Raindrops and coronets

I have been  Sunday working, and when I got up at 7.15 am, bleary eyed, the sun was out. I woke up properly as I had my first cuppa….

I picked this from my garden yesterday, and snapped it this morning, back-lit by the promise of a beautiful day….

by the time I left the house an hour later, I had already seen rain and above there were very heavy clouds. I remembered to check that both the raincoat and umbrella were safely in the car, just in case.

Several times today I have been very glad of the rain coat and the fact that my curly hair does its own thing, anyway, whatever.

One storm was so heavy I had to slow to 15 mph, with windscreen wipers on ‘fast’ and fog lamps on. I waited outside a patient’s house for a few moments before deciding to dash for it.

By the time I drove home several sections of road were a covered in sheets of water and I made some very impressive high sprays :) (Yes, I did check first there was no-one there vulnerable to my curtain of water!)

It was still raining, though much less heavily when I took these, lying on my tummy in the open doorway of the utility (like you do) -

This is my patio. Under water.

and under the pergola, big rain drops…

Meanwhile in the front, raindrops were making bubbles in the puddles…

And now?

Well the sun’s trying to come out.

About Pseu

No time to lose. No, time to lose. Make time to stand and stare.... Did you see that? http://pseu1.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in global warming, Nature, Photography, Thinking aloud and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Raindrops and coronets

  1. granny1947 says:

    Stunning pics….I would never have thought of trying to snap them.

  2. julia christine stephen says:

    what a beautiful flower. :)

  3. speccy says:

    ooh, great pics :)

  4. Tina Robson says:

    Great photographs of the raindrops splashing onto puddles, making splashes and bubbles.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    Love the first pic, but NotCat would be in seventh heaven with the last. He bursts the bubbles. It’s one of his favourite games…

    • Pseu says:

      I can just see it! Pippi keeps going out and then coming back in rather wet!

      • IsobelandCat says:

        The latest ginger is bout andI can’t get him in yet. We were expecting a wet day, but after a heavy shower this morning it has been lovely. I am hoping you are going to post a series of photographs charting Ms Longstocking’s growth from kitten to young cat. Oh, I never sent you NotCat’s names. Will do that now.

  6. Stunning photos! I love the raindrops! how’s the stained glass coming along?

  7. Al says:

    Those are some fascinating pictures of the raindrops. I can just picture Gene Kelly stomping through them.

  8. There’s that eye again! Fabulous pics, especially the dahlia and the coronet.

  9. ceciliag says:

    I loved those, thank you so much for bringing me over and i loved your description in the comment you made on my blog about driving so close to the wall of water, that must have been stunning to see. You are very good at seeing. Lying in your utility (as you do!!) laugh! c

What do you think?

