Big

I’m a week late with my big photo, and sadly the light wasn’t very good this afternoon: but I thought I’d still share this unexpected shark, which has been adorning the rooftops of Headington, Oxfordshire for more than 26 years.

I remember the morning I first saw it, as I cycled to an early shift at the hospital in 1986!

A  little more info about the shark here

About Pseu

No time to lose. No, time to lose. Make time to stand and stare.... Did you see that? http://pseu1.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in cracked, Nature, photo challenges, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Big

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    Reminds me of a firm up the road that makes models for adverts. For a long time Stalin and a submarine adorned their oof.

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Oh, I know the feeling of being late…and bad light…but this was worth it! (God, that kind of light drives me crazy – will they ever get a cure for it?) But seriously, thanks for posting – I just love stuff like this.

  3. speccy says:

    Pseu, thanks for this. I’d never heard of it and it’s rather wonderful :)

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Jock says he remembers when it first arrived. It made me gape, anyway.

  5. yellowlancer says:

    Wow, it’s great…loved seeing it and reading all about the history. Don’t you love a council that does everything it can to stop things that people might actually enjoy? :(
    So glad it survived! Thanks, Pseu, really enjoyed it :)

  6. ehpem says:

    This brings back memories – I lived in the UK when this went up, and I remember reading about it in the paper. Nice to see it has survived the local politicians and other negative forces.

  7. I’d say you captured “big” very well. Big, it is, and interesting. A real traffic stopper! :-)

  8. nrhatch says:

    Talk about a fish out of water . . . Big Fish, No Pond. :D

  9. sarsm says:

    Oh My Goodness!!!

  10. colonialist says:

    I love it! That is cocking a snook in style, indeed.

What do you think?

