Thankful

Every year I say thank you to Delia Smith who wrote this book

and this year I’m thankful that I scribbled in the changes that I’ve made over the years.

for the photo challenge ‘thankful’

With only a month to go until the big day I soaked the fruit last night in three tablespoons of brandy and this morning assembled the rest of the ingredients, and have just put the rich mixture into the oven for 4 hours.

Last year this was the result

About Pseu

No time to lose. No, time to lose. Make time to stand and stare.... Did you see that? http://pseu1.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Cooking, photo challenges, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Thankful

  1. 76sanfermo says:

    I think you do something brilliant and useful too! I’ve just started a blog myself,with recipes also fitted for lactose-intolerants.
    Wish you have a lot of success,thank you for all your work!

  2. Pingback: Letter From Britain « Kate Shrewsday

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful « patriciaddrury

  4. yellowlancer says:

    Last year’s cake looks very good :) I went shopping and bought fruit on Saturday…hopefully I’ll do the baking one day this week. I’ve never iced my Christmas cakes but would like to…what mixture/frosting do you use?

  5. pix & kardz says:

    what an original take on ‘thankfulness’. i must confess i am not a big Christmas cake fan, but yours looks beautiful! thanks for sharing :)

  6. eof737 says:

    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪May your week ahead be filled with thankful moments! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Elizabeth :-)

  7. Looks good! You are one of three people I know who makes Christmas cake. And they say it’s a dying art.

  8. I love the ritual of preparing food for Christmas. One of my favourite things is watching the Delia Christmas stuff on telly..

  9. Pingback: Thank God for Friends! « Just another wake-up call

  10. janh1 says:

    A classic! :-) I’ve got that one too. Your cake looks and will definitely taste, lovely. Christmas cake is my favourite!

  11. There are so many jokes here about Chritmas cakes, which get regifted over and over because nobody likes them. Is this the same in the UK or do the British actually like eating it?

  12. A beautiful cake! This post makes me smile. I have a copy of my mother’s favorite cookbook, the Woman’s Home Companion. My son, who loves to cook, just bought himself a fiftey year old copy of it too! Wonderful post.

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful | Humbled Pie

What do you think?

